Canberra Art Workshop is a thriving studio centre for the arts in the M16 Artspace. We welcome all artists, from complete beginners to practicsing professionals. You’ll find a group that’s right for you — life drawing, pastel, watercolour, portraiture, printmaking, and others — all run in Canberra Art Workshop’s studio. As well as the self-directed art groups, we also provide weekend workshops, tutored classes, art talks, group shows, and exhibitions.
Canberra Art Workshop is a non-profit body. We are self-funded, owned and operated by our members. We are gratefully supported by many volunteers including Convenors, Events, Communications and Exhibition Teams, and our Website Manager. We are managed by an elected voluntary Committee.


The CAW was founded in the 1950s as the Canberra Art Club to provide a studio for local artists.
Other activities carried out by the young association at that time included:

  • provision of teaching opportunities by invited artists, including well-known figures like Lloyd Rees, John Coburn, and Clifton Pugh
  • exhibiting the works of the Blake Prize in Canberra
  • making formal representations to the Senate Select Committee proposing the creation of a National Art Gallery (three decades before NGA opened) and a Canberra School of Art (now a faculty of the ANU).

We continue to provide one of the most exciting and varied calendars of art development events in our region. Through our art, we have helped imagine the future for our community helping to build Australia’s most liveable city.


Committee Executive

Richard Cochrane (President)
Jill Mail  (Vice President & Studio Management)
Evan Williams (Secretary)
Prudence Power (Treasurer & Events)
Amanda Adrian (Exhibitions)
Elizabeth Hanna (Assistant Secretary)
Sallie Saunders (Governance)
Cliff Woodward (Membership)
Pamela Anne Bleakley (Public Officer)
Ross Andrews (Communications)

Committee Members

Elizabeth Hanna (Assistant Secretary)
Sallie Saunders
Cliff Woodward
Ross Andrews
Pamela  Bleakley (Public Officer)


Christopher Gray from

Communications Team
Michael Creagh
Ross Andrews
Prue Power
Christopher Gray
Events Team

Prue Power
Amanda Adrian
Julie Spencer
Sallie Saunders

Exhibition Team

Amanda Adrian
Jill Mail
Rick Cochrane


By Glenda Wakeham

Membership Team

Cliff Woodward
Prue Power

Patron: Cynthia Watsford, OAM

ABN: 41396335326